Group Photo at End Of URSA Awards URSA Awards URSA Awards Student, Melina Aguayo Receiving Award From Erika Keenan and Joe Gonzales Charlene "Tajj" White Receiving URSA Award From Erika Keenan Group Photo at End Of URSA Awards

The URSA Awards exist to celebrate and honor those students, nominated by faculty or staff, who show great leadership or other noteworthy qualities here at Phoenix College. There is no limit to how many can be nominated. 

“Ursa” is the Latin word for bear and is reflected in the night sky by the constellations of Ursa Major, “the Great Bear” and Ursa Minor, “the Little Bear” - more commonly called the big and little dippers. The Ursa Awards are held to recognize and celebrate our “Bear Stars,” the student leaders of Phoenix College.

You can find the complete list of 2019 URSA winners here, or you can see the list below: 

Sumiyyea Abdul-Rasheed Branco Roebers
Esteban Bejines Angel Verdugo
Misgana Gebremariam Dorothy Nadeau
Adriana Galvez Jonathan Fuentes
Richard Whatley Marlen Flores-Castaneda
Michael Garcia Sydney Horton
Nicole Day Darenda Gilder
Deisy Curiel Sara Solomon Tezare
Maksudakhon Samadova Michael Garcia
Marcos Polanco Meda Melina Aguayo
Charlene White Maria Rodriquez
Ely Gonzalez Gabriela Flores
Cristal Zambrano Gabriella Palma
Alema Jenkins Diana Torres
Sarah Lawson Cathy de Veyta
Cassandra Moya Luis Aguilera
Juan Herrera Ashley Flores-Prez
Lucero Vegas Chiao Chen Wang
Christopher Sanchez Yesenia Martinez
Laurel Smith Anna Bain
Omar Corral Armas Jasmine Goode
Tanya Nesselrode Macedonio Pena
Jaziel Olmeda Amanda Morris
Kassandra Barrera Alondra Lopez Solis
Andre "Dre" Adams Emily Lopez
Joise Garth Kerrington Vaughn
Michelle Cunneen Nam Nguyen
Randy Long Reynaldo "Rey" Bujan


Thank you everyone who nominated students and all the families and faculty and staff members that put together this wonderful event. Your hard work did not go unnoticed! 

Share this Event